Australian National University

BobProfessor Robert Furbank Bob takes over as Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Translational Photosynthesis at ANU in January 2016, having previously been Director of the High Resolution Plant Phenomics Centre at CSIRO from 2009 until 2014. Bob’s research is focused on improving photosynthesis and carbon partitioning traits in crop plants for increased yield. He works on both C3 and C4 photosynthesis and spans approaches from the molecular regulation of transcription to phenomics in the field.  He is passionate about developing translational links between basic plant biology and agricultural outcomes.

Susanne von CaemmererProfessor Susanne von Caemmerer Susanne is Professor of Molecular Plant Physiology at ANU.  Her research is in CO2 fixation including the biochemistry of C3 and C4 photosynthesis and the regulation of CO2 diffusion in leaves. She has worked across scales in biochemistry, molecular biology and whole plant physiology combining mathematical modelling approaches with experimental verification. She was part of a team that presented a mathematical model of C3 photosynthesis, which is now used worldwide. She is an elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, The Royal Society of London  and the German Academy of Scientists.

Maria Ermakova

Dr Maria Ermakova Masha is a postdoc in Susanne von Caemmerer’s and Robert Furbank’s group. She obtained her PhD in biochemistry in University of Turku working in Eva-Mari Aro’s lab. Her research is focusing on photosynthetic electron transport reactions in C4 plants and ways to improve crop yield by manipulating thylakoid proteins.





Dr Florence Danila Flor is a postdoc in Susanne von Caemmerer’s and Robert Furbank’s group. She obtained her PhD at the Australian National University under the supervision of Susanne von Caemmerer, Bob Furbank, Paul Quick and Rosemary White. Flor’s research is focused on leaf symplastic transport and its importance for improved photosynthesis.